State HR Resources

Minnesota HR Resources

Minnesota Pregnancy and Parental Leave Act

Employees may take up to 12 weeks of unpaid leave upon the birth or adoption of their child when:

  1. they work for a company with 21 or more employees;
  2. they worked at least half time for 12 months; and
  3. they have been with the company for at least 12 months. 

When does the parental leave start?

  • The leave must be taken within 12 months of the birth or adoption.
  • Employees must request the leave from their employer.
  • Employees can choose when the leave will begin.
  • Employers can adopt reasonable policies about when requests for leave must be made.